PATROL ADJUDICATION SERVICE JOINT COMMITTEE

26<sup>TH</sup> June 2012 Item 9

# **REPORT FOR INFORMATION**

SUBJECT PATROL ANNUAL REPORT AWARD 20010/11

## REPORT OF The Lead Officer on behalf of the Review Group

## PURPOSE OF REPORT

To update the Joint Committee on the PATROL Annual Report Award

#### RECOMMENDATIONS

It is recommended that the Joint Committee:

- [i] Notes the results of the second PATROL Annual Report Award for 2010/11
- [ii] Receives a report on the findings of the Review Group at the Executive Sub Committee in September.
- [iii] Notes the arrangements for the Award for 2011/12 reports.

## FINANCIAL CONSEQUENCES OF THIS REPORT

The PATROL Annual Report Award forms part of the Joint Committee's planned expenditure.

**CONTACT:** Louise Hutchinson, Head of Service, PATROL, Barlow House, Minshull Street, Manchester M1 3DZ

#### 1. BACKGROUND

The Traffic Management Act 2004 came into force on 31 March 2008 with the expectation that local authorities would produce an annual report in order to increase public awareness and understanding of civil parking enforcement locally. In January 2009, the Joint Committee established the PATROL Annual Report Award in order to promote best practice in this important area of public information.

## 2. THE PATROL ANNUAL REPORT AWARD 2010/11

2.1 A Review Group was established and chaired by Peter Bayless, retired Head of Traffic and Safety at Hampshire County Council. Other members included David Leibling representing the RAC Foundation, Karen Naylor, Parking Manager from Waltham Forest and Colin Eaketts from the Integrated Transport Unit of the Welsh Assembly Government The Review Group circulated an evaluation framework for the purposes of judging the entries and this was circulated to all council.

Reports were identified from the following councils:

County	District	Metropolitan	Unitary
Gloucestershire	Adur	Birmingham	Portsmouth City
East Sussex			Council
Devon			
	Barrow	Sheffield City	Poole
	Carlisle	Manchester	Brighton & Hove
	Weymouth and	North Tyneside	Middlesborough
	Portland		
	Dacorum	Sunderland	Southampton
	Eastleigh	Salford	Torbay
	Harrogate	Rochdale	Stock-on-Trent
	New Forest		Bournemouth
	Test Valley		Durham Council
	Watford		York
	Waverley		Milton Keynes
	Worcester		Portsmouth
	Wycombe		Thurrock
	Wyre Forest		

2.2 The Review Group considered a long list of 14. From this long list, the following entries were shortlisted:
Brighton &Hove City Council
Carlisle City Council
Stoke on Trent City Council
Sheffield City Council
Torbay Council
York City Council

- 2.3 The Review Group identified the overall winner as York City Council. This year the review group felt it appropriate reward another authority with a separate award to reflect where a report, which may not be as detailed or as comprehensive as the overall winner, shows a willingness to report on key parking matters. The Review Group identified Stoke City Council as the winner of this award. An award plaque will be presented to the winning councils and certificates to shortlisted councils.
- 2.4The Award will receive coverage in the parking press and a report of the Review Group's findings will be presented to the September 2012 Executive Sub Committee Meeting.
- 2.5 Copies of the winning reports will be available at the meeting and these together with the shortlisted reports can be found on the PATROL web site at <u>www.patrol-uk.info</u>.

## 3. PATROL ANNUAL REPORT AWARD 2011/12

3.1 The Review Group was unanimous in their support for this award and has agreed to participate again this year. Reports for the 2011/12 Award will be considered from September onwards.

#### 4. RECOMMENDATIONS

It is recommended that the Joint Committee:

- [i] Notes the results of the third PATROL Annual Report Award, 2010/11
- [ii] Receives a report on the findings of the Review Group at the meeting of the Executive Sub Committee in September.
- [iii] Notes the arrangements for the Award for 2011/12 reports.